European Grouping for Territorial Cooperation (EGTC)

EU _ _ _ States members map

Cross-border cooperation received in 2006 an important support of the European Union through the creation of the legal figure of European Groupings for Territorial Cooperation (EGTC) is regulated by the Regulation (EC) No. 1082 / 2006, of the European Parliament and the Council, of 5 July.

This regulation has been amended by the Regulation (EU) No. 1302 / 2013 of the European Parliament and of the Council of 17 December, amending the previous as regards clarification, simplification and improvement of the establishment and operation of such groupings.

The EGTC go beyond mere cross-border cooperation, since they also include international and interregional cooperation. new European regulation opens up the possibility of cooperation with third States not members of the Union.

The EGTC is a legal entity, directly regulated by the aforementioned Regulation and by the Member States ’ complementary regulations. the members of these groupings can be regional and local authorities, public law bodies and the Member States themselves, this latter aspect being the most novel part of the regulation. the members must come from at least two Member States of the European Union.

The constitution and regulation of the EGTC is contained in a territorial cooperation agreement and in the articles of each grouping, detailing everything to do with its organisation and functioning. the principal objective of the EGTC is to strengthen the economic, social and territorial cohesion in the geographical scope.

Each Group manages its own budget, has economic resources and staff capacity and to contract, within the limits of the powers conferred to each member of the grouping by national legislation, it is implementation.

With this figure, the European Union goes beyond the classic concept of cross-border cooperation, only between border neighbours and opens the new route of the “territorial cooperation ”, in which the States or regions, including border not, can reach agreements that benefit common economic interests or cultural.

In spain, royal decree 23 / 2015 of 23 january fleshes out the provisions of european regulation, reflecting the amendments introduced by the reform 2013.

European groupings of territorial cooperation

  • Constituted:
    • Galicia-Northern Portugal
    • duero-douro
    • zas-net
    • pirineos-mediterráneo
    • pirineos-cerdanya
    • archipiélago delmediterráneo (ARCHIMED)
    • espacio portalet
    • the cerdanya
    • eurocidade chaves-verín
    • eurorregión aquitania-euskadi
    • faja pirítica Ibérica
    • Ciudades of ceramics (aeucc)
    • Huesca Pirineos-Hautes Pyrénées
    • Cross-border -País of art and history. The Valleys catalanes of TEC and Ter
    • León-Bragança
    • European Mycological Institute (EMI)
    • Interpal-Medio Tejo
    • Eurociudad del Guadiana
    • Río Miño
    • Pirineos-Pyrénées

Map of the EGTC